Scent Control – Does It Really Work?

Welcome Forums General Discussion Scent Control – Does It Really Work?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  admin 2 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

admin
    Keymaster
    This article is in no way intended to offend anyone or to tell them what they are doing is wrong. This is meant to give you more / different information to think about.
        There is a lot of discussion about leaving scent at your sets. Some think it is possible to not leave any scent, and some think it is impossible. Let me tell you, it is impossible.
       The human body has up to 40,000  tiny pieces of skin that leave the body every minute. Those pieces are called “rafts”. They are made up of skin cells, hygiene products, bacteria, fungus, parasites, sweat, hormones, and enzymes. They are unique to each individual. Even the rafts from identical twins are different.
        I am a police officer in Indiana. I was a K-9 officer for over 15 years. During that time I worked 3 different dogs on the street and I was also the trainer for the department. I handled 100’s of dogs getting them ready to work the street. The dogs nose is capable of smelling numerous odors at once. The human nose can smell approx 3 odors during 1 sniff. The dog can smell several. Look at it this way, you go to an Italian restaurant. You walk in and you will probably smell garlic, onions, and maybe another odor. Dogs will smell those along with several other odors from the kitchen, the people in the store, shampoo on the carpets, etc.
        Dogs track the “bad guys” due to them leaving scent where they ran. That is how we track them. They also smell disturbed vegetation where the bad guy stepped.